2017 Prize Winner

Stephen A. Ross

The 2017 Wharton-Jacobs Levy Prize for Quantitative Financial Innovation was awarded to the late Stephen Ross at the Jacobs Levy Center’s fall conference on September 15, 2017 in New York. He was recognized for his work in the area of multifactor asset pricing, memorialized in his 1976 Journal of Economic Theory paper “The Arbitrage Theory of Capital Asset Pricing.” Ross taught at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania and the Yale School of Management before joining the faculty of the MIT Sloan School of Management in 1997, where he was the Franco Modigliani Professor of Financial Economics.

Prize ceremony speakers included Richard Roll, Linde Institute Professor of Finance at Caltech and David Musto, Ronald O. Perelman Professor in Finance and Finance Department Chair, the Wharton School. The ceremony was officiated by Michael Gibbons and Christopher Geczy of Wharton, and Bruce Jacobs and Kenneth Levy of Jacobs Levy Equity Management. The award was accepted by Carol Ross on behalf of her husband.

More on the 2017 Prize

2017 Prize Selection Committee
  • Bruce Jacobs (Committee Chair)
    Principal and Co-Founder, Jacobs Levy Equity Management
  • Stephen Brown
    Professor Emeritus of Finance, Leonard N. Stern School of Business, New York University
    Executive Editor, Financial Analysts Journal
  • Christopher Geczy (Ex-Officio)
    Adjunct Professor of Finance; Academic Director, Jacobs Levy Equity Management Center for Quantitative Financial Research, The Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania
  • Campbell Harvey
    J. Paul Sticht Professor, Duke University Fuqua School of Business
  • Marc Reinganum
    Former Senior Managing Director, Chief Quantitative Strategist, State Street Global Advisors
  • James Scott
    President, Q Group